What's New

NCT Eligibility Requirements

New eligibility requirements for the NCT examination are being phased in and they will take full effect March 15, 2013. The new requirements may be found at http://www.nmtcb.org/specialty/cardiology.php

Inactive Certification Reactivation Fee

The Board of Director's has adopted a new policy related to the fee assessed to reactivate a certification that has been inactive for less than five years. For the purposes of this policy, in active is defined as any status other than "ACTIVE" and includes but is not limited to Emeritus, Retires, Inactive, CE Probation, Suspension, etc. This policy took effect on April 1, 2009. 

In order to return to Active status from any qualified non-Active status, the certificant must satisfy all existing renewal requirements and pay a $65.00 (US) Reactivation Fee.

Exam Application Reactivation Policy

The Board of Director's has adopted a new policy related to the number of times that an examinee will be allowed to take the entry-level examination after receiving a failing score. This policy took effect on January 1, 2005, and is outlined below:

If you have previously taken the examination, your application remains on file for three (3) years from the date of the original application. If you do not pass the entry-level exam within the three-year window, you must re-apply and meet the current eligibility requirements. Eligible candidates may repeat the examination by reactivating their eligibility with a written request to the NMTCB along with the current processing fee.

The following policies apply when an examinee fails the entry-level examination:

  • After the first failure, you may apply to retake the exam as soon as two weeks following the date of the first failure.
  • After a second failure, you must wait six months before you make take the examination again.
  • After a third failure, you must document 15 hours of continuing education in EACH of the following subject areas: radiopharmacy, nuclear medicine instrumentation, radiation safety (totaling 45 hours). The examinee may then go through the three steps above again (i.e., three additional attempts to pass the exam).

After a total of six unsuccessful attempts to pass the exam, you must successfully complete an approved nuclear medicine technology training program to become eligible to retake the examination.


The Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board Has Developed a Post-Primary Computed Tomography (CT) Credential.

Read more


Can I change my NMTCB CE reporting cycle to match my continuing education cycle with another organization?

Read more


Order NMTCB replacement certificates, scrubs, polo shirts, patches, pins, mugs, and more.

Read more